Internet-based hunter education courses are designed to meet unusual schedules and different learning styles. This is also a great way for parents to mentor their children while studying for the course.
The online course materials cover a portion of the information you would receive in a traditional classroom setting. An additional classroom conclusion course is then required to complete the hunter education course and receive a Colorado Hunter Education card. This class will be a minimum of four hours, although some conclusion courses are longer to accommodate additional material. Check the schedule for your class carefully.
The classroom conclusion course provides additional skills training, and covers topics such as handling firearms, hunter responsibility and ethics, Colorado game laws, and other hands-on learning activities. The classroom portion of the course will take place over either one or two days.
Internet-based conclusion courses are NOT available in all areas of the state, and may not be available at a time convenient for the student. Please check conclusion course availability before beginning an online course. You must pre-register for a classroom conclusion course prior to attending. Drop-in students are not allowed because of class size restrictions. Please see our online calendar and look for “Internet-Based Hunter Education Course.”
Colorado accepts four Colorado-approved online hunter education courses. One course is free and the others require a fee in addition to the classroom conclusion course fee: The International Hunter Education Association (IHEA) course (free), the hunter-ed.com course ($24.50), the huntercourse.com course ($24.95), and HunterEdCourse.com ($13.00). Look at their options and choose which course works best for you.
If you take the IHEA online course, you may be required to take a pre-test before starting the classroom conclusion class. This test is used as proof that the IHEA online course was taken. (Some instructors may also require the students to print out the section exams as proof of completing the online material.)
If you choose to take the Huntercourse.com course, the Hunter-ed.com course, or the OutdoorRoadmap.com course, you will have to provide the Certificate of Completion from the online course to be allowed to complete the classroom portion of the course with your Colorado hunter education instructor. Colorado does not accept online certificates from other states.
An Internet-based Bowhunter Education course is currently being offered in the Denver area only. Check the course calendar for all bowhunter education opportunities.